Jesus Girl Bag

Jesus Girl Bag.

My blog has two parts, mad and faith. Together, they represent my name, but apart they represent two stories. The first, being “mad” is all about my adventures, photoshoots, and current life. The second, “faith” will be about my walk with God.  Although there are technically two categories in my blog, they are really the same thing because I have, and I am Mad Faith.

It’s a simple explanation that is slightly comical to explain who I am, and what I live for. I am a Jesus girl, and I carry around a bag on occasion. The contents allow me to flourish, share and grow. I came up with the name one night at youth group and it stuck as my friends decided to start their own Jesus girl bags.

It gets people talking. When I bring this bag around to different places its a casual thing for me to say, “Oh yes, this is my Jesus girl bag.” It’s such an easy and effortless thing to say. The name is not proper, but it is relatable, maybe even familiar. It sparks a conversation that may not be expected. The casual sense that it has makes everything a little more understandable.

What’s in it you may ask? I will show you!

jesus-bag-contents

This is typically what is my my bag! It’s everything I need to spend quiet and quality time with God. I always have a bible, my journal, colored pencils and a coloring book. Sometimes I through a lipgloss in there too. Ya know, have to fulfill the “girl” part of the name.

jesus-bag-legit

For only 500 pesos, my Jesus girl bag was updated this summer to this vibrant one from the Dominican. I love that it is bright because people often ask me about it, which is a perfect conversation starter for talking about faith. Also love the little dolphins on it, you can’t go wrong with a design like that on the front am I right.

My tiny Bible is of course the piece that shines in the Jesus girl bag. I use this small Bible for when I am out and about because I have a devotional one that weighs more than then stone that covered Jesus’s grave. Need an angel to carry that big one around. All jokes aside, tiny Bible is the way to go.

jesus-bag-open-journal

Next is my journal. My family gave this to me so it is oh so extra special. Here is where I reflect on sermons and verses. It’s on these pages that I pour out my heart and write down my prayers.

And finally, we have my coloring book and colored pencils. I cannot tell you how many deep and profound thoughts I have had while coloring. The puzzle pieces just click together while I get lost in the pictures. I bought both the colored pencils and the book at Target and they are my absolute favorites. The book is all about worshiping the Lord through the pictures, verses and lyrics to songs on each page. These two pieces complete the Jesus girl bag!

Moral of this little story is, get yourself a Jesus girl bag. Think of how many people you can touch with just a bag; or simply a backpack! You can shake up this whole earth, you can change someone’s heart, you can share love, just by showing a piece of faith. And maybe it is a little silly and somewhat quirky but wouldn’t it be amazing if you brought someone to God’s love just because of a little bag?

That is my hope. That is my prayer. That not only would a Jesus girl bag change my heart, but someone else’s too.

Leave a comment